CIVIL PROCESS DIVISION
STEELE COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE
204 EAST PEARL STREET
OWATONNA, MN 55060
Deputy Tony David
Office Phone: 507-444-3864
Jane Christenson, Office Assistant
Office Phone: 507-444-3808
The Civil Process Division of the Steele County Sheriff’s Office provides a means for individuals, attorneys, and courts to have legal papers served within the Steele County area. Some of the most frequently served papers include: Subpoenas, Evictions, Dissolution of Marriage, Order for Protection, Harassment/Restraining Order and Mortgage Foreclosure.
In addition to paper service the Steele County Sheriff’s Civil Division is able to assist parties with the seizure of monies or property through wage garnishments, bank levies or levies on property.
We are not able to provide legal advice. The answers to many legal questions can be found in the Minnesota State Statutes, which are available on-line through the State of Minnesota's website.
Mortgage foreclosure sales are held Monday through Thursday at 10:00 a.m. at 204 East Pearl Street, Owatonna. Notices of sales are published in local newspapers. We do not provide a list of sales. If you are wanting our office to hold a sale for you, please provide us with a copy of your paperwork at least a week in advance of the sale date. If you wish to bid on a property, you must come prepared to submit the entire amount of your bid to the Sheriff's Office in the form of cash, certified check or money order at the time of the sale.
- The attorney for the mortgage company or the plaintiff will open the bid with the minimum amount due at the time of the sale.
- Other bidders are then given the opportunity to bid. A successful bidder must have cash, certified check or money order (payable to the Steele County Sheriff's Office) in hand to submit to the Sheriff's Office at the time of the sale. No approval letters or request for additional time to obtain monies will be accepted at the time of the bid.
- The successful bidder will receive a Sheriff's Certificate of Sale that lists the name of the purchaser and the amount of the purchase. The Certificate of Sale is prepared by the attorney and includes documentation that all statutory requirements have been completed.
- It is the responsibility of the successful bidder to record the Certificate of Sale.
- All mortgage foreclosure sales are subject to a redemption period, usually 6 or 12 months. The length of the redemption period is noted in the sale notice.
We require prepayment of all services and our current fees include:
|Fee Schedule - 2022|
|Paper Service||$85.00 Flat Rate per Individual served / per case|
|Copies||$.25 per page side|
|Foreclosure /Sheriff's Sales||$100.00|
|Fail to Notify/Postpone/Cancel||$75.00|
|Intent to Redeem||$100.00|
|Deputy Fees||$100.00 / Hourly (evictions, inventories, etc.)|